Daniel 12:3- Literacy

“Those who are wise will shine like the brightness of the heavens, and those who lead many to righteousness, like the stars for ever and ever.”

One of my favorite things in the world is reading, followed closely by learning; but they’re basically the same thing in my mind. One of my greatest joys is feeling useful. I’ve never really considered myself to have a heart for service, but the more I serve, the more joyful I become. My goal then, is to be useful while reading a learning. This leads me to my passion for literacy.

Growing up, my parents always read to me. I think I learned more things from plots than I ever did in grade school. Occasionally I’ll be able to share some piece of trivia just because I read it in a book. I believe that reading is learning. The more we read the more we know about cultures, about the world, about virtues, and most importantly about humanity and the way minds and characters and personalities function in a society.

Unfortunately, there’s so many children who haven’t had the blessing of parents who read to them. It’s statistically proven that kids who read score better on tests and achieve better grades and are brighter overall. The power of literacy is amazing. As a society I think it’s our duty to educate our children because one day they’ll be in charge. What better way to accomplish this than through reading. Reading is all about using the imagination but it can also be very analytical and therefore works with any type of learner. If we simply encourage kids to read, or read out loud with them, or even read ourselves it will make us smarter and ultimately it will better our world.

Because for any philanthropist, the end goal is always a better world, and for me that world is achieved through books. And through books we can imagine any great number of worlds.

Leave a Reply

