Isaiah 25:7-Restlessness

On this mountain he will destroy the shroud that enfolds all peoples, the sheet that covers all nations; he will swallow up death forever.”

I’ve been pretty focused on the idea of Restlessness lately. There’s so much drama that goes on in any place that’s teeming with 20-somethings that I spend a lot of time praying for peace: in myself, my relationships, and the hearts of others. In my search for peace I began to feel that my life was static (we’re all a little hypocritical). So anyway, this brings me to St. Augustine who said:

“Lord, our hearts are restless until they rest in you.”

cd1802b8b727b3a2ec0bef2f3ad14d2e

There’s a crazy series of events that then led me to know there is a reason this quote has been on my heart.

  • I was thinking about this quote pretty seriously.
  • In a car ride with a close friend of mine this quote came up (mostly because I’d been thinking about it)
  • In my 1am holy hour that night, I was thinking about it even more.
  • During the holy hour, the book I was reading mentioned it.
  • The next morning, during morning prayer, the first song we sang was Audrey Assad’s Restless.

If that’s not crazy or miraculous or divine intervention then I certainly don’t know what is. So, obviously, this is super important but how does it apply to me? I think that in all my thinking about peace I was searching for something that the earth will never be able to provide me. My friend in the car mentioned to me as we were talking that we are always going to be restless until we get to heaven.

The answer to our search for peace isn’t as simple as focusing all my desires on the Lord and making him the center of my world (all good things). Resting in the Lord is something that only happens when we get to Heaven. Restlessness is good. Adventure and living out my vocation is good. Moving forward and trusting in God’s eternal plan is good. So, instead of focusing on how I can reach inner peace, I need to embrace my discomfort. I need to live out my restlessness until I can finally reach my eternal reward and tell Christ that I did great empowering things in His name and that I wasn’t comfortable. And then, Christ will fold me in his arms and give me rest.

Leave a Reply

