1 Corinthians 16:14- Haiti

“Let all that you do be done in love.”

IMG_1149

About two months ago I went on an incredible journey to Haiti to serve and to love and to give of myself in a very real way. I spent a week working in the missions of the Missionaries of Charity (Mother Teresa’s order). Every morning we would run an all boys camp. We fed the boys breakfast, ran several stations of activities, fed them lunch and then sent them home with hugs and love. In the afternoons we would go to either a Children’s Home for sick babies or the House of the Dying. At the Children’s home, we would hold the sick babies or play with them if they were well enough. There was a few older orphans that liked to play (read: destroy) our hair and eat our candy. We sometimes would help with meals and diaper changes but mostly we just loved those babies that didn’t have anyone to hold them. At the Home for the Dying there was a variety of ages. I spent most of my time with two little girls I thought to be about 6 and 8 but later learned were 8 and 13. Many of the women we visited enjoyed having their nails painted or would braid our hair. Sometimes our tasks were as simple as to pray. In every experience, love was ever present and overwhelming from the Haitians.

As lessons in love I learned many many things from the Haitians. I’m sure there will be multiple posts about this trip, each about a different life lesson. But most importantly, I learned how powerful love is. I learned what it meant to give of myself and to serve. But I also learned that the greatest act of service will always be overshadowed by the love I feel in return. I expected to spend nights in tears when I was on mission but I always spent my reflection time smiling and feeling uplifted.

Look for much more to come about this incredible adventure!

Leave a Reply

